Final primary election results are releasedFree Access

Additional ballots didn’t change outcome


The final tabulations are now official from the recent primary election in Mariposa County.

Keith Williams, county clerk and registrar of voters, released the official results on Tuesday of this week.

A total of 5,177 ballots were cast, or 49 percent of registered voters.

Williams said there were additional ballots collected at the polls the night of the June 5 primary. Those included mail-in ballots brought to the polls as well as provisional ballots.

In the local race which drew wide interest, incumbent District 3 Supervisor Marshall Long slightly extended his win, moving to 59 percent of the vote. He received 750 votes, compared to 446 for challenger Heather Bernikoff and 75 for challenger Jerry Cox.

Vince Kehoe ended up with 2,913 votes, or 67 percent, in the race for assessor/ recorder while Tony Amundson had 1,460 votes.

In the race for Mariposa County Judge of the Superior Court, incumbent Dana Walton finished with 3,714 votes, or 78 percent, compared to 1,041 votes for challenger Ed Johnson.


In the race for governor of California, Republican John H. Cox won in Mariposa County with 1,766 votes. Republican Travis Allen had 1,1,95 votes. Democrat Gavin Newsom received 961 votes, or 19 percent.

Newsom and Cox will face off in the November general election for governor.

In the race for U.S. Representative in the 4th District, incumbent Tom McClintock, a Republican, had 2,874 votes in Mariposa County. Democrat Jessica Morse had 1,161 votes. Morse and McClintock will vie for the seat in the November general election.

In the race for United States Senate, incumbent Democrat Dianne Feinstein grabbed the most votes in Mariposa County. She had 1,334 votes, or 28 percent in a field that had 32 candidates.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *